Walnut and honey pie-cookies

I don’t like being stuck in traffic. I am sure no one does. It just seems to be getting worse and worse each day. Yesterday, my drive from work to home, which is supposed to take me 40 mins (it is yet to happen though) took me one and a half hour. So I was there, at a standstill, right after getting on the highway and I know this sounds crazy, I just wanted to get out of my car and start walking home. It wouldn’t have been faster, it would have probably taken me a day to get home 😉 but I felt so unproductive sitting there doing nothing. A walk would mean a good much needed workout and even more needed fresh air. But don’t worry I didn’t really do it, maybe I should really think about getting some audio tapes and learn a new language or something. Or better yet, just move closer to work! Oh well, all in good time!!

You know what I enjoy more than baking? Impromptu mid week baking!!! I had seen a recipe for some pie like cookies on pinterest and I had to make them. The plan was to eat one, maximum two and get the rest for the people at work to enjoy, but that plan didn’t really work out.

These cookies are incredibly easy to make. Well, they are not really cookies, they are more like cookie sized pie bites, but they are amazing and the perfect size to curb that  “I just need a small bite of something sweet with my coffee” craving I have almost everyday 🙂

I kind of knew my “I’ll take most of these cookies to work plan” wouldn’t work out and if I made too many we would just end up eating all of them. So I decided to make just 10 (instead of the 60 that the original recipe makes). Also, I did’t have any maple syrup so I used honey instead, and it worked just as well. I used raw honey though, which is pretty thick, I imagine the cookies would have been more syrupy if I had used maple syrup or processed honey. You can see in the pictures that I did not seal them very well, this was only because my filling had was not runny at all.

Walnut and honey pie-cookies Recipe 

(adapted from An Edible Mosiac, makes 50-60 cookies)

Ingredients 

For the pastry crust

  • 2 1/2 cups(12 oz) whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose unbleached flour)
  • 3/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, chilled and diced
  • 4-6 tablespoons ice-cold water

For the filling

  • 2 cups walnuts
  • 6 tablespoons honey(or maple syrup)
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Also

  • 1 large egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon water (for egg wash)

To make the pastry

  1.  Pulse together the flour and salt in a food processor. Add the butter and shortening and pulse until it looks like coarse meal (the pieces of butter should be about the size of small peas).
  2. (Alternatively, this can be done by hand; whisk the flour and salt together in a large bowl, then cut in the butter and shortening with a pastry cutter or a fork until it looks like coarse meal.)
  3. Transfer the dough from the food processor to a large bowl. Add water 1 tablespoon at a time, working the dough together with your fingertips just until it comes together, and only adding enough water so the dough comes together when you squeeze it.
  4. Gather the dough together into a ball and then divide it into 2 pieces. Flatten each into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate until chilled, about 30 minutes. While the pastry chills, make the filling.

To make the filling

  1.  Pulse the walnuts in a food processor until finely chopped (but don’t let them turn into walnut butter; or chop them by hand).
  2. Combine the nuts in a medium bowl with the honey (or mpale syrup), cinnamon, and nutmeg.

To bring the pastry and filling together

  1. Unwrap 1 disk of chilled dough and generously flour both sides. Lay a piece of parchment paper out on your work surface and generously flour it.
  2. Place the dough on the prepared parchment paper and top with another piece of parchment. Working from the center out, roll the dough out to a circle about 11 inches in diameter.
  3. Use a 2 1/4 inch cookie cutter (or a glass with that diameter) to cut out circles in the dough. I used a crimped cookie cutter, which is what gave the cookies the pretty edges.
  4. Place 1 teaspoon of filling in the center of each circle of dough. Fold the dough over onto itself, pressing the cookie closed and being careful to not tear the dough.
  5. You want the cookie to be full with the filling and the dough to just cover the filling. Press the cookie close.
  6. You will have leftover scraps from the circles you make, gather these scraps, roll them out again, and continue this way till you use as much of the scraps as possible. Then, do the same with the second disc of dough
  7.  Arrange the cookies on baking sheets 1 inch apart and refrigerate until fully chilled, for about 2 hours. During the last 30 minutes of chilling, preheat the oven to 350F.
  8. Once the cookies are chilled and the oven is hot, brush the top of each cookie with egg wash. Bake until the cookies are golden, about 22 to 24 minutes, rotating the trays once halfway through.

These cookies are like little bites of nutty goodness, G said they would be great with little pieces of apple in the filling along with the walnuts, so feel free to try that out if you want fruit in everything like he does 😉

4 thoughts on “Walnut and honey pie-cookies

  1. One and a half hours? No wonder you sound so irritated haha! N seriously I remember now why I didn’t start following your blog. The stuff looks soo yummy I think I get fat by just looking at the pics haha

Leave a Reply

